



Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science 167 (2007) 1–2

www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs

## **Preface**

The Third International Conference on Computability and Complexity in Analysis, CCA 2006, took place on November 1–5, 2006 at the University of Florida, Gainesville. It is the 12th event in a series of workshops, seminars and conferences starting in 1995. For more information about CCA see http://cca-net.de.

The conference is concerned with Computable Analysis, the theory of computability and complexity over real-valued data. Computability theory studies the limitations and abilities of computers in principle. Computational complexity theory provides a framework for understanding the cost of solving computational problems, as measured by the requirement for resources such as time and space. In particular, computable analysis supplies an algorithmic foundation of numerical computation.

Scientists working in the area of computability and complexity over the real numbers and over more general continuous data structures come from different fields, such as theoretical computer science, domain theory, logic, constructive mathematics, computer arithmetic, numerical mathematics and all branches of analysis. The conference provides a unique opportunity for people from such diverse fields to meet and exchange ideas and knowledge.

The conference program consists of 3 tutorials, 6 invited lectures and 23 contributed lectures. We would like to thank all authors for their contributions, the program committee members and the additional referees for their careful refereeing work, and the organizing committee members for their work as well. We would also like to thank the National Science Foundation, as well as the Department of Mathematics, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the Office of Graduate Research and Technology at the University of Florida for generous support.

## Scientific Program Committee

- Andrej Bauer (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
- Arthur Chou (Worcester, USA) Rod Downey (Wellington, New Zealand)
- Abbas Edalat (London, UK)
- Denis Hirschfeldt (Chicago, USA)
- Iraj Kalantari (Macomb, USA)
- Hiroyasu Kamo (Nara, Japan)
  Joseph S. Miller (Storrs, USA)
- Anil Nerode (Ithaca, USA)
- Jeff Remmel (San Diego, USA)
- Robert Rettinger (Hagen, Germany)
- Klaus Weihrauch, Chair (Hagen, Germany)

## Organizing Committee

- Paul Brodhead (Gainesville, USA)
- Douglas Cenzer, chair (Gainesville, USA)
- Rick Smith (Gainesville, USA)
- Rebecca Weber (Gainesville and Dartmouth College, USA)

Douglas Cenzer Ruth Dillhage Tanja Grubba Klaus Weihrauch