Group members

 Current Group Members

Hyunjun ChoeChoe Hyunjun

5th Year Graduate Student. B.Sc. from Kwangwoon University, South Korea. M.Eng. from Kwangwoon University, South Korea.

Research: Uncovering and improving the substrate range of serine palmitoyltransferase.


Thinh Nguyen

3rd Year Graduate Student. B.Sc. from University of Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France. M.Sc from University of Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France.

Research: Protein extraction and purification from Brassica carinata


Richard Watkins

4th Year Graduate Student. B.Sc from Armstrong Atlantic State University, Georgia. M.Sc. University of North Carolina at Chaper Hill, North Carolina

Research: Structure-function relationships in yeast OYE 1 and OYE 3 




Ahram Kim

3rd Year Graduate Student. B.Sc. from Sookmyung Women’s University, South Korea.

Research: Engineering 5-aminolevulinic acid synthase for application to chemical synthesis 


Rukshana Uddin

2nd Year Graduate Student. B.Sc. from University of Florida


Research: Optimization and applications of valuable proteins from Brassica carinata


Jarrad Pazda

1st Year Graduate Student. B.Sc. from University of Florida





Past group members


Filip Boratynski Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Science.

Santosh Kumar Padhi January 2006 – August 2007. Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 2005, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. Current Location:  University of Minnesota.

Hillary Lathrop August 2013 – August 2014. Ph.D., Analytical Chemistry, 2013, University of Florida. Current location: ADC management, Texas.

Marko Mihovilovic  January – July 1998; Schrodinger Fellow of the FWF. Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 1998, Vienna University of Technology. Current Location:  Vienna University of Technology.

Bart Neff  September 1997 – June 1998. Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 1997, Texas Tech University. Current Location:  Dow.

Bradford Sullivan Ph.D., Chemical Biotechnologie 2009, Brock University.

Jun Zhu April 1996 – January 1998. Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, 1995, University of New Brunswick. Current Location:  Codexis.

Graduate Students

Sarah F. Beaudoin Ph.D., Chemistry 2017.  Current Location:  Integrated DNA Technologies.

Despina J. Bougioukou Ph.D., Chemistry 2006; postdoctoral fellow 2007. Current Location:  DuPont.

W. Colin Conerly Ph.D., Chemistry 2012. Current Location:  BioTork.

Dimitri Dascier Ph.D., Chemistry 2011. Current Location:  University of New Mexico.

Brent D. Feske Ph.D., Chemistry 2005. Current Location:  Armstrong Atlantic State University.

Heather Hillebrenner  Ph.D., Chemistry 2006. Current Location:  University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Iwona A. Kaluzna Ph.D., Chemistry 2004. 2003 Ruegamer Fellow. Current Location:  DSM.

Brian G. Kyte  Ph.D., Chemistry 2003. Current Location:  Humboldt State University.

Leslie Lehman  M.S., Chemistry 2001.

Carlos A. Martinez Ph.D., Chemistry 2000. Current Location:  Pfizer.

Louis M. M. Mouterde Ph.D., Chemistry 2017, Current Location:  AgroParisTech.

Parag Parekh M.S., Chemistry 2005.

Jillian Perry Ph.D., Biomedical Engineering 2009. Current Location:  University of North Carolina.

Aris A. Polyzos Ph.D., Chemistry 2003. Current Location:  Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.

Yuri Pompeu Ph.D., Chemistry 2013. Current Location: Harvard Medical school.

Robert Powell Ph.D., Chemistry 2016. Current Location: Intel, Portland.

Sonia Rodriguez Ph.D., Chemistry 2000. Current Location:  Universidad de la Republica, Montevideo, Uruguay.

Kieth W. Reed M.S., Chemistry 1996. Current Location:  U.S. Army, retired.

Erica A. Simmons Ph.D., Chemistry 2017.

Neil Stowe Ph.D., Chemistry 2008. 2007 Proctor & Gamble Award winner. Current Location:  Alere.

Magdalena Swiderska Ph.D., Chemistry 2007. Current Location:  University of Berne.

Collin Thomas M.S., Chemistry (teaching) 1996.

Jennifer A. Tonzello Ph.D., Chemistry 2000. Current Location:  Research Corporation.

Kavitha Vedha-Peters Ph.D., Chemistry 2002.

Adam Z. Walton M.S., Chemistry 2002; Ph.D., Chemistry 2012.  Current Location:  U.S. Army

Di Zhou M.S., Chemistry 2012

Undergraduate Students

Adam Bennett B.S., Chemistry, 2004. 2003 U.F. University Scholar.

Catherine Charron B.S., Chemistry, 2001. 2000 U.F. University Scholar.

Jason Evangelista B.S. with Honors, Chemistry, 1996. 1995 NSF REU Participant.

Cristina Iturrey B.S., Neuroscience, 2017

Shannon Johnson B.S., Chemistry, 2009.

Kristen Kathman B.S., Chemistry, 1998.

Elise Manning B.S. with Honors, Chemistry, 1998. 1997 NSF REU Participant.

James Melotek Junior Honors Medical Program. Beckman Scholar.

Megan Mrstik B.S., Microbiology, 1997.

Athena Patterson-Orazem B.S., Chemistry, 2014.

Tricia Pockey B.S., Chemistry, 1999.

Adam Rothman B.S., Chemistry, 2010. 2008 HHMI Science for Life Scholar. 2009 University Scholar.

Kersten T. Schroeder B.S., Microbiology, 1999.

Aileen Sewell B.S., Chemistry, 2003.

Melissae Stuart B.S., Chemistry, 2005.

Olivia Toudjarov 


Amy Andrew West Virginia Wesleyan University. 2000 NSF REU Participant.

Celine Bailly Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6. Summer 2014.

Mariana Bonilla Universidad de la Republica, Montevideo. 2001 NSF REU Participant.

Sylvie Boualavong Universite Louis Pasteur de Strasbourg. 2005 NSF REU Participant.

Dr. Didier Buisson Universite Rene Descartes – Paris 5. Summer 2004.

Remi Cazelles Université Paul Sabatier of Toulouse. 2009 NSF REU participant.

Gang Chen University of New Brunswick. Summer 1997.

Kristen Fuller Muskingum College. 2009 NSF REU participant.

Sylvain Gau Université Paul Sabatier of Toulouse. 2008 NSF REU participant.

Sylvestre Gug Universite Louis Pasteur de Strasbourg. 2004 NSF REU Participant.

Malgorzata Habrych Adam Mickiewicz University. 2001 NSF REU Participant.

Sabine Leveque Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6. 2012 NSF REU Student.

Erin Hanlin University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point. 2005 NSF REU Participant.

Professor Mary Anne Sousa Lima Universidade Federal do Ceara.

Professor Tomoko Matsuda Tokyo Institute of Technology. Summer 2002.

Khari Ollivierre Ocala Vanguard High School. 2011 UF Student Science Training Program Participant.

Alonso Rodriguez Universidad del Valle. 1999 NSF REU Participant.

Sara Santangelo Politecnico di Milano.  2015.

Carolina Santiago Universidade de Sao Paulo. 2011 NSF REU Participant.

Professor José Nunes da Silva Jr. Universidade Federal do Ceara.

Jessica Smith Clarion University. 2001 NSF REU Participant.

Simon Strompen Hamburg University of Technology.

Professor Morris Waugh Morehouse College (deceased). 2002 NSF-supported faculty visit.

Weerawut (Tick) Wittayanan Universite Louis Pasteur de Strasbourg. 2003 NSF REU Participant.

Catherine Zingle  Universite Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg. 2006 NSF-France REU participant.