Colloquium Spring 2018

The canonical time and room is 9th period (4:05-4:55pm) in the Atrium (Little Hall 339), but nonstandard days and rooms will happen.

Some additional relevant sites:

 
Speaker Affiliation Title Inviting Host Colloquium Host Date Day Time Room
Mustazee Rahman  MIT  On largest eigenvalues of graphs 01/10/2018 WED 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Sam Sanders Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich How countable approximations distort mathematics.   Cenzer 01/12/2018 Fri 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
  MLK Day
   01/15/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Wai-Tong (Louis) Fan University of Wisconsin, Madison Stochastic and deterministic spatial models for complex systems


01/16/2018 Tues 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
 Florian Frick  CANCELED 01/18/2018 Thurs 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Linda Westrick Computation and hierarchies in classical analysis


01/22/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
James Pascoe Manipulating matrix inequalities 01/23/2018 Tues 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Dana Bartosova  Topological groups and Ramsey theory 01/25/2018 Thurs 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Larry Rolen Jensen-Pólya Criterion for the Riemann Hypothesis and Related Problems 01/26/2018 Fri 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Kyungyong Lee  Introduction to cluster algebras 01/31/2018 Wed 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Laura Schaposnik CANCELED
02/01/2018 Thurs 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Luca Di Cerbo
Negatively curved manifolds, Betti Numbers, and Singer Conjecture 02/02/2018 Fri 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Jay Taylor
Automorphisms and Characters of Finite Groups 02/05/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Cheng Yu ENERGY CONSERVATION FOR FLUID EQUATIONS 02/06/2018 Tues 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Megan Bernstein Progress in showing cutoff for random walks on the symmetric group 02/07/2018 Wed 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Catherine Pfaff A Nielsen-Thurston inspired story of iterating free group automorphisms and efficiently deforming graphs 02/09/2018 Fri 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Arnaud Marsiglietti The Brunn-Minkowski Inequality for Log-concave Probability Distributions 02/12/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Rana Parshad Finite Time Blow-Up and “Ecological” Damping: Applications to Invasive Species Control 02/14/2018 Wed 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
02/19/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
 Andy Lewis-Pye Finding short paths in small worlds. 03/02/2018 Fri 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
SPRING BREAK


03/05/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
03/12/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
03/19/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
 Vidit Nanda  Oxford  Reconstructing simplicial group actions  Bubenik 03/21/2018 Wed 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
Ken Ribet
 UC Berkeley   Ramanujan Colloquium
 Alladi 03/26/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 101)
04/02/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
 George Andrews  Penn State Ramanujan’s Lost Notebook in Five Volumes__Reflections. 04/9/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
04/16/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)
04/23/2018 Mon 4:05pm Atrium (LIT 339)